top of page

Paint Paint Paint and other advice


Paint and paint and paint some more. I've been told this before, and I knew it was true, but I didn't know just how much it helps when you are trying to become a masterful painter! I finally just closed my door, ignored the phone and turned off the TV. It's amazing what you can get done! I gave myself assignments and fulfilled them dutifully. I sold paintings out of the car, some to my friends and where ever else just so I could to keep painting.

The reward is that You have a body of work. You figure out how to do things and just as importantly, how not to do things. Painting is a never ending school. You never graduate, you never get to go to the prom. If you are lucky, though, you get to stay in school and paint!

Grow a thick skin. Not everyone is going to like your work. Be gracious, appreciate what admiration you do receive and be humble even if you want to crow in your loudest voice! But don't be ridiculously humble! Recognize that you have paid your dues and deserve some admiration!

Be willing to put mistakes behind you. Don't apologize for doing your job. Do your job.

Stockpile supplies! It's awful to finally get a moment to work on something and you find yourself without a canvas, or paint or what ever else you need. Do the same for your images. Take lots of photos! Read magazines and look art galleries where ever you go! Inspiration comes in many forms. Enjoy sunsets, beautiful clouds and ripe peaches. It's all art!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page